Day 57: Spanish Quarter 2007 Cabernet Sauvignon Tempranillo Spain

This bottle has one of the livelier labels that I’ve seen over the past few months. The only bottle I’ve had prior whose label provides any competition was Mollydooker the Boxer. Unfortunately, attractive labels don’t necessarily translate proportionally into taste, so I had no idea what I was in for.

Spanish Quarter is a Cab-Tempranillo blend from Spain. I’m not positive that it’s from Catalunya but it does have el Monumento de Colón on the label which is iconic of Barcelona. The wine itself was surprisingly pleasant. It has a deep color and a complex nose. The taste is rich with plenty of cherry and blackberry. I’m also getting a bit of an oaky flavor as well.

Overall, the wine is pretty good. It breathed up a bit over the course of the hour or so between opening and being finished. I’d definitely pick this bottle up again. Spanish Quarter: C+/B-