Day 46: Sunburst Cellars 2005 Chardonnay Central Coast, CA

There isn’t much of a story behind this bottle of Chardonnay. Most likely, I bought it because it was cheap, and I’ve had a pretty good run with California Chards.

Unfortunately, that run has slowed dramatically with this bottle of Sunburst. It’s body is characteristic of a Chardonnay,but I find the taste to be lacking dramatically in comparison to those I’ve had in the past. The back of the bottle brags about how the lower climate in Central CA allows for the preservation of acidity. It seems as though it doesn’t do much for the taste. It lacks any substantial sweetness or fruitiness, two things that I’ve come to look for in Chardonnay.

Overall, Sunburst is a pretty crummy Chardonnay in my opinion. It just doesn’t have much to offer in the way of flavor. Sunburst: D-/F