Day 48: San Pietro 2008 Pinot Grigio Italy


I was feeling a bit lazy this afternoon and put off my scheduled trip to the local winery. As a result, I had to rummage around the house to find a bottle of wine to drink this evening. I uncovered this bottle of Pinot Grigio, somewhat reluctantly, because I haven’t had the most favorable history with Italian Pinots. That said, I, as always, was/am up for the challenge. So here goes…

San Pietro is, true to it’s description, a dry white wine. The nose is light and sweet; The color is virtually transparent. San Pietro isn’t really hiding anything either when it comes to taste. The flavor is mildly sweet and fruity. I taste light fruit, a bit of apricot, and a mild hint of honey. All in all, a simple Pinot Grigio.

This wine, in my opinion, was pretty mediocre, but at the same time somewhat eye-opening for me as I’ve always been biased against Pinot Grigio. It’s one of the few varieties that my parents dabbled with while I was younger and I therefore have essentially dismissed it as a reasonable wine. Why? I’m not really sure. Let’s just say I don’t hold my parents’ wine preferences in the highest regard. Anyway, San Pietro was all right. I wouldn’t shy away from drinking it again, but paying for it is a whole other story. San Pietro: C-