Day 49: Vero 2004 Pinot Noir Burgundy, France

The power went out in my town this evening, so I rummaged through my dark garage to find this bottle of Pinot Noir. It’s a bit older, and French, two things that are pretty uncommon in my wine choices so far. I was curious to see how those factors would influence the taste.

My general thought about Vero is that it’s been sitting in the garage a little bit too long…and by a little bit, I mean a few too many years. The color is much lighter than I was expecting from a Pinot Noir. The body is incredibly light. In my opinion, most of the flavor was absent. It had a tiny bit of light fruit and a bit of bitterness on the back end. Other than that, I thought the wine was pretty void of flavor.

I find it really interesting that some wines are meant to be opened soon after bottling while others are best decades down the road. This bottle strikes me as one of the former that was opened past its prime. Oh well, perhaps I should do some research before opening older bottles to better understand what to expect. Vero: D

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment