Day 50: Bolla 2008 Chianti Tuscany, Italy

I’ve wanted to try a Chianti for a while and when perusing a new wine store this afternoon, I jumped at the opportunity to snag an affordable bottle.

Bolla is a Tuscan Chianti that runs $9 in my semi-upscale wine shop. The nose is fruity and robust. The color, too, is intense. I find that I enjoy the flavor: full of fruit, namely plum, cherry, and raspberry. Overall, it’s a heartier variety than the average red I’ve had for the duration of this blog. All that said, it took about 30 minutes of breathing for this wine to really open up. At first, the back end was pretty harsh, but after a half hour it became much more smooth.

Overall, Bolla was good enough to get me sort of excited about trying Chiantis in the future. It was a decent Italian red, but nothing great … it merely served as an acceptable introduction to a new variety. Bolla: C-/D+