Day 54: Ashford Court 2005 Chardonnay California

Tonight’s bottle isn’t exactly revolutionary, but I did discover a new pairing for white wine: layer cake! I’ve had many a bottle of California Chardonnay, but never before have I coupled it with baked goods; such a pairing goes quite well.

Ashford Court is a milder chardonnay than many I’ve had in the past. The flavor is a bit more complex, but much less forward. The wine is much less sweet than other chardonnays and has a more bitter/earthy taste than I’m used to. I taste peaches, apricots, and honeydew which work well together for a complete and pleasant taste.

I’m not sure why I gravitate toward chardonnay when I buy bottles of white. Maybe they’re just cheaper than other varieties and I closely watch price tags. That said, I’m certainly not displeased with this bottle. I enjoyed Ashford Court and would be happy to drink it again, especially if it comes with layer cake šŸ˜‰ Ashford Court: C-

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment