Day 41: Guess Who’s Back

So I’ve returned from the Middle East where I did a bit of a detox … a.k.a. no alcohol consumption for two whole weeks. My friends said that I looked skinny when I returned which surprised me, but I guess that’s what happens when you remove 500 calories from your daily diet. In the spirit of returning from a trip abroad, I’ve got a little teaser of a review for today as I transition back into drinking a bottle a day:

Yakut Kavaklidere Dry Red Wine

I couldn’t pronounce the name of this wine if I tried! As you might be able to tell, this is an airplane-sized bottle and fittingly so, I opened it on my recent flight to Istanbul. I’m going to keep this short because I’m typing on my iPhone. Here goes.

Yakut is a Turkish dry red wine. My first impression is that I greatly prefer a dry red to a dry white. Something about the texture and complexity of the wine keep me interested, and I think they’re often lost in a dry white. This wine is dark colored and light bodied. The taste is light as well with hints of dark fruit accompanied by a smokiness on the back end.

Overall Yakut ain’t bad for an Airplane wine! I wouldn’t pay for it, but I’ve accepted it gladly on this flight. Yakut: D