Day 45: Borgale Umbria 2007 Cabernet Merlot Italy

Tonight’s wine inspired me to make a couple of personal pizzas for a friend and myself. I was looking it over, saw that it’s Italian, and decided to make pizza utilizing some fresh naan that I found in my kitchen.

Unfortunately, the highlight of my evening was the pizza and not Borgale. It’s a cabernet and merlot blend from Italy, which sounded good to me initially, but it was all downhill from there. The wine has a deep color and not much of a nose. The taste follows in kind: bland, weak and flavorless as far as I’m concerned. It is red wine, but in my opinion, not much else.

Borgale marks another disappointing Italian red wine for me. I’m obviously not good at picking from the Italian section … it’s definitely something I should spend more time researching. Borgale: F