Day 47: Nederburg 2008 Special Late Harvest South Africa

I picked up this bottle when I ventured into the South Africa section of the wine store. This is probably the first week that I’ve picked up an equal amount of both red and white wine (my scale has tilted red consistently in the past).

Nederburg is a South African sweet white wine. It’s got a strong aroma that is really indicative of the fruitiness to come. I taste apricots, raisins, and hints of honey. Needless to say, this wine is SWEET. However, at the same time, I think the taste is balanced enough to allow the wine to go down smoothly.

I could definitely see this wine pairing well with some Asian dishes…it sort of reminds me of the plum wine that I’ve tried in the past at Asian restaurants. Overall, it’s a tasty sweet smooth white wine. I’m pretty pleased with it, especially considering that I’m normally not huge on the white wine. Perhaps it’s a resurgence of my sweet tooth. Nederburg:B-